Return to Headlines

Smith Named New President of Governing Board

Smith named new president of FSUSD Governing Board

Fairfield - The Fairfield-Suisun Unified School District (FSUSD) Governing Board elected its new president and vice president for 2022 during its Organizational Meeting December 16, 2021.


Trustee Bethany Smith was selected as the new Governing Board President. “I am honored to have the support of my colleagues as we continue to navigate the challenges of the pandemic and address its impacts on students, staff, and our community," remarked Smith. Board President Smith recognized and thanked outgoing President Jonathan Richardson for his leadership during a year that presented many challenges. Board Member Richardson will continue to serve the FSUSD community as a trustee.


Trustee David C. Isom was elected as Vice President. There was no change to Craig Wilson’s role as Board Clerk. Board Member Ana Petero was appointed as Acting Clerk.  Board President Smith then appointed Helen Tilley as Parliamentarian and Superintendent Kris Corey as Secretary.  Board Member Judi Honeychurch will continue as the Chair of the Governance Subcommittee, and Board Member Wilson was appointed Chair of the Facilities Subcommittee.  Board President Smith also appointed Board Members to various governance committees. Those additional appointments can be found in the Governing Board Summary Notes via


The next regular meeting of the FSUSD Governing Board will begin at 5:00 PM, on January 13, 2022 and can be viewed live by visiting


-- 30 --